Italiano - Home page

Istituto Superiore di Sanità
EpiCentro - Epidemiology for public health
Epidemiology for public health - ISS

Ebola virus disease (EVD), formerly known as Ebola haemorrhagic fever, is a severe and often fatal illness in humans.


As clarified by the World Health Organization (WHO), the RNA viruses of the Ebolavirus genus belong to the Filoviridae family (filoviruses). This family also includes the Marburgvirus genus and Cuevavirus genus.


Six different species have been identified within the Ebolavirus genus:

  • Bundibugyo ebolavirus (BDBV)
  • Zaire ebolavirus (EBOV)
  • Reston ebolavirus (RESTV)
  • Sudan ebolavirus (SUDV)
  • TaŃ— Forest ebolavirus (TAFV)
  • Bombali ebolavirus (BOMV).

Only BDBV, EBOV and SUDV have been associated with major EVD outbreaks in Africa.


Epidemiological surveillance

Ebola virus disease (EVD) is included among the class I infectious diseases subject to compulsory notification, i.e. diseases that require immediate reporting under the International Health Regulations or because they are deemed of particular interest. Doctors are required to report any suspect case of disease to the relevant Local Health Unit within 12 hours, by completing a form (pdf 100 kb) provided by the Ministry of Health.

Publication date: 15 January 2021